The Melbourne Fringe Awards are an opportunity for Melbourne’s arts community to celebrate and acknowledge the diversity, professionalism and exceptional quality of work in each year’s Festival.

Below are the 2015 award recipients:

2015 Category Awards

Best Cabaret
The Road to Shangri La, Mager & Smythe

Best Circus
No Punchline, Game Bird

Best Comedy
Ghost Machine, Laura Davis

Best Dance
This is What's Happening, Slown, Smallened & Son

Best Kids
Reasons to Stay Inside, Katy Warner

Best Live Art
The Ministry, Monash Uni Student Theatre and Kin Collaborative Inc.

Best Music
Old Tech New Decks, Vanessa Nimmo and Matt Rankin

Best Performance
FAG/STAG, The Last Great Hunt

Best Venue
The Butterfly Club

Best Visual Arts
AS IF: 40 Years and Beyond, Australian Women's Art Register

Local Awards 

Best Emerging Circus Performer 
Supported by ACAPTA

Anne Truong, No Punchline

Best Emerging Indigenous Artist
Supported by Willin Centre (VCA & MCM)

Ian Michael, HART

Best Emerging Producer
Supported by Auspicious Arts Incubator

Cameron Stewart, We May Have To Choose

Best Emerging Visual Artist or Curator 
Supported by West Space

The Ownership Project, It Came From Over There

Best Emerging Writer
Supported by Emerging Writers’ Festival, in association with Melbourne Theatre Company

Telia Nevile, Poet vs. Pageant

Innovation in Culturally Diverse Practice
Supported by Multicultural Arts Victoria

Shannan Lim and Vidya Rajan, Asian Ghost-ery Store

Original New Circus
Supported by Circus Oz

Rockie Stone, Vincent Van Berkel and Callan Morgan, Perhaps there is Hope Yet…

The Discovery Award
Supported by Melbourne Festival

Emma Hall, We May Have To Choose

The Evolution Award
Supported by Arts House

Gold Satino, Suburbia

People’s Choice Award

wtf renaissance 

Touring Awards 

Best Experimental Performance
Supported by PACT Centre for Emerging Artists

Bodies Over Bitumen, Skye Gellmann, Naomi Francis, Alex Gellman and Kieran Law

Outstanding Comedy Show
Supported by Brisbane Powerhouse

Strong Female Character, Rowena Hutson

The SA Tour Ready Award
Supported by Adelaide Fringe

HART, She Said Theatre

The Tiki Tour Ready Award
Supported by New Zealand Fringe

HART, She Said Theatre

The WA Tour Ready Award
Supported by Perth Fringe World

We May Have To Choose, Emma Hall


Sustainable Design Award
Supported by Banyule City Council

Sarah Thomas & Luke Sharrock (Mitsein), Freshly Squeezed

Tait Award for Design Innovation
Supported by Tait

Josh Carmody, Legless Bar Stool

Emerging Designer Award
Supported by Craft

Megan Stewart, Fallingwood

Best Student Design
Supported by the Australian Furniture Association

Richard Greenacre, Agave Credenza

The Craftsmanship Award
Supported by Handsome & Co.

Richard Greenacre, Agave Credenza

Best Lighting Design
Supported by Melbourne Fringe

Isabel Avendano Hazbun, Wound Down